Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is SCC?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

Funding Distribution History

LAND Trust Funds TSSA Funds
2020-2021$318,456$288,920
2019-2020$261,107
2018-2019$240,482
2017-2018$210,464
2016-2017$163,626

2020-2021 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.

Hal Nicholson - Chair / Parent
hal@zona.net
Jana White - Vice Chair / Employee
jana.white2@canyonsdistrict.org
Connie Atkisson - Parent
connie.atkisson@yahoo.com
Wayne Dittmore - Employee
wayne.dittmore@canyonsdistrict.org
Bruce Eschler - Assistant Principal
bruce.eschler@canyonsdistrict.org
Stephanie Fowler - Parent
S_j_fowler@yahoo.com
Ryan Frost - Parent
ryan_frost@msn.com
Heidi Grimshaw - Parent
heidijillgrimshaw@gmail.com
Andrea Haugen - Parent
andreacat@AOL.com
Darrell Jensen - Principal
darrell.jensen@canyonsdistrict.org
Jennifer Kalm - Parent
jenniferkalm@gmail.com
John Knoop - Parent
knipknup@gmail.com
Devin Morgan - Parent
devmorgan@flowserve.com
Tami Owen - Parent
tamiowen1000@gmail.com
Christa Reid - Parent
creidny@icloud.com
Sandra Steele - Counselor
Sandra.steele@canyonsdistrict.org
Heather White - Parent
heather@marketingepic.com

We invite all parents to attend SCC meetings and to run for membership position.  Our elections are held in August each year, with interested parents applying in July.  Parents will be notified by email about vacancies on the Council and how to apply for them. Council members determine  the way LAND Trust funds are spent and assist the school in determining our School Improvement Plan, Cell Tower Expenditures, and professional development for staff.

2020-2021 Annual Plans & Reports

Click here to access translatable, accessible LAND Trust Plans & Reports.

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule, Minutes and Agendas

All meetings will be held in the Administrative Conference Room at 5:00PM

Translate »