Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is SCC?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

2020-2021 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.  

Hal Nicholson – Chair
hal@zona.net

Jana White – Vice Chair
jana.white2@canyonsdistrict.org

Connie Atkisson
connie.atkisson@yahoo.com

Wayne Dittmore
wayne.dittmore@canyonsdistrict.org

Bruce Eschler – Asst Principal
bruce.eschler@canyonsdistrict.org

Stephanie Fowler
S_j_fowler@yahoo.com

Ryan Frost
ryan_frost@msn.com

Heidi Grimshaw
heidijillgrimshaw@gmail.com

Andrea Haugen
andreacat@AOL.com

Darrell Jensen – Principal
darrell.jensen@canyonsdistrict.org

Jennifer Kalm
jenniferkalm@gmail.com

John Knoop
knipknup@gmail.com

Devin Morgan
devmorgan@flowserve.com

Tami Owen
tamiowen1000@gmail.com

Christa Reid
creidny@icloud.com

Sandra Steele – Counselor
Sandra.steele@canyonsdistrict.org

Heather White
heather@marketingepic.com

2020-2021 Land Trust Funding

Land Trust Allocation: $318,456

TSSA Allocation: $288,920

School Improvement Plan 2018-2019

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held in the Administrative Conference Room at 5:00PM

We invite all parents to attend SCC meetings and to run for membership position.  Our elections are held in August each year, with interested parents applying in July.  Parents will be notified by email about vacancies on the Council and how to apply for them. Council members determine  the way LAND Trust funds are spent and assist the school in determining our School Improvement Plan, Cell Tower Expenditures, and professional development for staff.

September 3, 2020        Agenda  |   Minutes

October 1, 2020      Agenda   |   Minutes

November 5, 2020      Agenda  |  Minutes

January 7, 2021

February 4, 2021

March 4, 2021

April 1, 2021

May 6, 2021

Translate »